Why I love teaching and tutoring…

I feel like the luckiest person in the world that I get to do something every day that I truly LOVE!  I LOVE teaching!  I LOVE tutoring!  Why?

 

I love teaching and tutoring children for many different reasons but mostly for those special “aha” moments when the light bulb goes off and a student “get’s it”, the “it” being whatever concept or strategy we have been working on.    

 

 It begins with building a relationship with the child/student and getting to know them as a person, what interests them inside and outside of school.  I believe in my students and their ability to succeed academically and overall and I make this message clear.  I tell them, on a regular basis, “I believe in you!  You can do this!  I won’t give up on you!”   I mean what I say to my students and my sincerity and compassion are evident.  My energy, persistence, and patience serves to motivate my student’s to apply themselves and not give up.

 

We all learn differently, in different ways, and at different times.  A student may be a visual, auditory, or kinesthetic (movement) learner.  Some are a combination of all three types of learning styles.  It is my job as an educator to determine how each of my students learn best,  and to teach them strategies that they can use to help them achieve their full academic potential.

 

I LOVE teaching and tutoring!  I LOVE watching students grow and become more self-confident as students, readers, mathematicians, problem solvers, and people.   Everyone needs to know that someone believes in them.  My students know that I believe in them, today, tomorrow, and always.

 

 

 

About todaystutors

Hi! I'm Ashley, founder of Today's Tutors for Tomorrow's Future. My dynamic and innovative team of tutors and I believe that learning can be, should be, and is in fact FUN! Today's Tutors is composed of team of teachers/tutors who share my passion for teaching and motivating students. Our goal is to increase our student's self esteem and motivation as learners and problem solvers by giving them strategies specific to their learning style. We believe in our students and we won't give up on them! I am currently a first grade teacher and team leader at an Elementary School in Montgomery County Public Schools. I have taught first, second, and forth grade and have experience with a variety of learning styles and disabilities. I earned my Masters in Education from the University of Maryland. This blog is a way to communicate with our community about education and helping students achieve their full academic potential. We would love to hear from you. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment